Oreshek Fortress, which was founded in 1323, stands at the source of the Neva River on an island in Lake Ladoga. Over the past centuries, its citadel walls have witnessed their fair share of fierce battles. The fortress played a great role in history, as it allowed Rus’ to maintain control of the water route made by the Neva River, which flows toward the Gulf of Finland – a route that proved key for trade between Rus’ and countries in Western Europe. Throughout its existence, the island and fortress have changed names many times. At various points in history they were known as Orekhov, Oreshek, Nöteborg and Shisselburg. Nowadays Oreshek Fortress serves as a monument of historic Russian defensive architecture. RTG’s new programme investigates the different periods in the fortress’ history: Times of border outposts, prison torture chambers and the defensive fortification of the besieged city of Leningrad. The fortress’ history spans more than six and a half centuries, and to this day its walls still bear a seal of invincibility. Throughout all of the destruction and loss, Oreshek still serves as a unique image of a former stronghold.