Russian wedding feasts


Russian wedding as other significant events in one's life, is always accompanied by special culinary ceremonies. Together with chief cooker of «Emelian or Po Shuchemy Veleniu»* the presenter will prepare dishes that Russian wedding table has been served with from time immemorial.

The wedding in Russia has always been celebrated magnificently. It's always associated with numerous rite actions, most of which are now forgotten. Why a traditional bride's wedding finery was a red sarafan**? Why no wedding table could do without stuffed pike and special pie kurnik***? Get to know all this in program and learn how to cook national traditional dishes of Russian wedding table. *This name refers to a famous Russian fairy-tale by Aleksandr Rou. ** Sarafan is a traditional Russian long, shapeless jumper dress worn as Russian folk costume by women and girls. *** Kurnik is a Russian cupola-shaped pie stuffed with chicken, potato, onion and mushrooms.

Recipe «Kurnik»

Recipe «Stuffed pike»

Kurnik recipe serves 10 persons; cooking time ~ 60 minutes Ingredients for stuffing: 200 g. champignon, 1 onion, 200 g. ceps, chicken breast, 200 g. boiled rice, 3 boiled eggs, 300 ml. chicken bouillon, 60 g. flour, butter, 200 ml. cream, yeast pastry, pancake pastry. Directions: Prepare three stuffings for pie. For the first one cut champignons and ceps into dice and roast with chopped onion on a vegetable oil. For the second one chop chicken breast and roast until half readiness. Prepare Bechamel sauce*: melt butter in a frying pan, pour flour, roast until light golden and dilute with cream. Mix roasted chicken with sauce. The third stuffing consists of boiled rice, chopped greenery with bouillon for juiciness. Cook 12 pancakes. Roll out two flat cakes, a big and a little one. Put pancakes one by one on a little flat cake by rotating all three stuffings. Cover it with the second flat cake, roll the edges. Spread surface with whipped egg and bake in oven for 40 minutes at 160-180 degrees. *Bechamel sauce is one of the mother sauces of French cuisine and is used in many recipes of the Italian cuisine, e.g. lasagne emiliane. Stuffed pike recipe serves 10 persons; cooking time ~ 60 minutes Ingredients: a pike, 2 onions, 200 g. whitefish fillet, 1 raw egg, starch, 1 red Bulgarian pepper. Directions: Make a round cut on the head of the fish and break vertebra so that the head is hanging on a skin. Clean it out of gills and entrails. Peel it thoroughly. Cut with a knife or scissors in the place of fins. Prepare minced meat. Cut out pike fillet. Roast onion until light golden. Mince pike and whitefish fillet, roast onion and Bulgarian pepper. Add raw egg and a pinch of starch to minced meat. Salt to taste. Stuff a stocking of fish skin with minced meat. Roll fish into foil and steam for 40 minutes at 140 degrees. Serve with mayonnaise, lemon and vegetables.

Русский свадебный стол


Русская свадьба, как и другие важные события в жизни людей, всегда сопровождалась особыми кулинарными ритуалами. Вместе с шеф-поваром ресторана «Емельян или по-щучьему велению» ведущая программы готовит блюда, которые испокон веков подавались на русский свадебный стол.

Свадьба на Руси всегда праздновалась с особым размахом. С ней связано множество ритуальных действий, большинство из которых уже позабылись. Почему традиционным свадебным нарядом невесты был сарафан красного цвета? Откуда появился обычай обмениваться кольцами? Почему ни один свадебный стол не обходился без фаршированной щуки и специального пирога - курника? Об этом Вы узнаете в программе и научитесь готовить традиционные блюда русского свадебного стола

Рецепт «Курник»

Рецепт «Фаршированная щука»

Курник рассчитан на 10 порций; время приготовления ~ 1 час Ингредиенты: шампиньоны 200 гр, лук 1 шт, белые грибы 200 гр, куриная грудка, отваренный рис 200 гр, вареные яйца 3 шт, куриный бульон 300 мл, мука 60 гр, сливочное масло, сливки 200 мл, дрожжевое тесто, блинное тесто. Порядок приготовления: Приготовить три начинки для пирога. Для первой начинки шампиньоны и белые грибы нарезать кусочками и обжарить с нашинкованным луком на растительном масле. Для второй начинки - нарезать куриную грудку на мелкие кусочки и обжарить до полуготовности. Приготовить соус бешамель: растопить сливочное масло на сковороде, всыпать муку, обжарить ее до золотистого цвета и развести сливками. Смешать обжаренную курицу с соусом. Третья начинка состоит из отварного риса, мелко нарубленной зелени с добавлением бульона для сочности. Испечь 12 блинов. Из дрожжевого теста раскатать две лепешки – большую и поменьше. На меньшую лепешку выкладывать по одному блины, чередуя все три начинки. Накрыть получившуюся горку второй лепешкой, защипнуть края. Смазать поверхность взбитым яйцом и поставить в духовку на 40 минут при температуре 160-180 градусов. Фаршированная щука рассчитан на 10 порций; время приготовления ~ 1 час Ингредиенты: целая щука, лук 2 шт, мясо белой рыбы 200 гр, сырое яйцо 1 шт, крахмал, красный болгарский перец 1 шт. Порядок приготовления: На рыбе сделать круговой надрез у головы и переломить позвонок (голова должна как бы висеть на коже). Вынуть жабры и внутренности. Аккуратно снять кожу чулком, стараясь не повредить. В местах плавников подрезать ножом или ножницами. Приготовить фарш. Снять филе щуки с костей. Лук поджарить до золотистого цвета. Через мясорубку пропустить филе щуки, филе белой рыбы, обжаренный лук и болгарский перец. Добавить в фарш сырое яйцо и щепотку крахмала. Посолить по вкусу. Аккуратно забить чулок из рыбьей кожи полученным фаршем. Замотать рыбу в фольгу и готовить на пару 40 минут при температуре 140 градусов. Перед подачей на стол украсить майонезом, лимоном и овощами.