French Accents in Russian cuisine


Any national cuisine including Russian is always improving. Something is forgotten and something is added from without and is supposed to be a special appeal of a dish. How French cookers appeared in Russia, who has written the first culinary book, what red wine is added to meat for, and what culinary courtesy is? Get to know from a new program.

Relation between France and Russia are no longer only strict and diplomatic. As a result Russian and French cultures were so inextricably intertwined that many things from Russia are supposed to be French and vice versa. Connoisseurs of culinary history still argue about who was the first to introduce one or another know-how in cooking art. There exist many opinions. Every national cuisine is known to be a «living entity». Something is forgotten and something is added from without and is supposed to be a special appeal of a dish cooked by an ancient recipe. It's difficult to say what would have Russian cuisine been like if there hadn't been French influence, but something would have been lost for sure. How French cookers appeared in Russia, who has written the first culinary book, what red wine is added to meat for, and what culinary courtesy is? Get to know from a new program.

 

Recipe «Roast meat Kupechesky-style»

Recipe «Smoked duck breast with apples in caramel and with cowberry sauce»  

Recipe «Blancmange with raspberries»  

Roast meat Kupechesky-style serves 2 persons; cooking time ~ 30 minutes Ingredients: 300 g. beef, 300 ml. beef bouillon, 100 g. bacon, 200 g. mushrooms, 2 potato, 1 carrot, celery, bulb onion, 150 ml. red dry wine, thyme, 100 g. pastry for meat dumplings. Directions: Cut beef into dice and roast in a frying pan. Add bacon and onion. In 10 minutes put ground carrot, potato and mushrooms. Salt, pepper and stew for 5 minutes. Then add celery, thyme and wine. Stew until wine steams. Pour bouillon, cover and stew for 15 minutes. Then put roast meat into a clay pot, cover with a flat cake made of pastry and bake in over for 10 minutes. Serve in a pot, decorate with thyme. Smoked duke breast with apples in caramel and with cowberry sauce serves 1 person; cooking time ~ 30 minutes Ingredients: /> duck fillet (breast), 100 g. honey, apple, 250 ml. white dry wine, 100 g. sugar, 100 g. cowberry, thyme, 100 ml. cream. Directions: Clean duck fillet out of film, salt and pepper. Pour with honey, red wine, add thyme and marinate for 15 minutes. Remove the core and seeds from the apple, and cut it into rings. Prepare caramel. For this you should melt sugar in a frying pan and then add white wine. When the wine steams, put apples out and dip them in caramel for two minutes from each side. Smoke pickled duck for 20 minutes. For sauce – boil white wine in caramel, add cowberry and boil for a little. Then add far cream and blend. Serve smoked duck with caramel apples and cowberry sauce. Blancmange with raspberries serves 1 person; cooking time ~ 20 minutes Ingredients: 100 ml. milk, 20 g. marzipan, 50 g. sugar, vanilla, 33% cream 100 ml., raspberries, 15 g. gelatin. Directions: Prepare milk base. Fill a frying pan with milk, add sugar, marzipan and vanilla. Put on medium fire and heat stirring slowly until sugar melts. Add soaked in advance gelatin. Turn off fire and cool. Make a thick milk shake and add to milk base. Put raspberries into ice-cream bowls, fill with the mixture and leave in a fridge to freeze. Serve the blancmange with mint and fresh raspberries.

Французские акценты в русской кухне


Любая национальная кухня постоянно развивается. Что-то забывается, что-то привносится извне и становится изюминкой блюда. Каким образом французские повара оказались в России, кто написал первую кулинарную книгу, и что такое «кулинарные любезности»? Обо всем этом - в новой программе.

Отношения между Францией и Россией давно вышли за рамки строгого дипломатического общения. В результате русская и французская культуры переплелись настолько тесно, что сегодня многое из того, что пришло из России, французы считают своим и наоборот. Знатоки истории кулинарии до сих пор спорят, кому принадлежат те или иные ноу хау в поварском искусстве. Однозначного ответа нет. Ведь любая национальная кухня, как известно, «живой организм». Что-то забывается, что-то привносится и блюдо, приготовленное по старинному рецепту начинает звучать по-новому. Трудно сказать, какой была бы современная русская кухня без французских акцентов, но что-то было бы утеряно. Каким образом французские повара оказались в России, кто написал первую кулинарную книгу, зачем добавлять красное вино в мясо и что такое «кулинарные любезности»? Обо всем этом - в новой программе.

Рецепт «Жаркое по-купечески»

Рецепт «Копченая утиная грудка с яблоками»

Рецепт «Бланманже с малиной»

Жаркое по- купечески рассчитан на 2 порции; время приготовления ~ 30 минут Ингредиенты: говядина 300 гр, бульон говяжий 200 мл, бекон 100 гр, грибы 200 гр, картофель 2 шт, морковь 1 шт, сельдерей, лук репчатый 1 шт, красное сухое вино 150 гр, тимьян, пельменное тесто 100 гр. Порядок приготовления: Нарезанную кубиками говядину обжарить на сковороде. Добавить бекон и репчатый лук. Через 10 минут выложить в сковороду измельченные морковь, картофель и грибы. Посолить, поперчить и потушить еще 5 минут. Затем добавить сельдерей, тимьян и сухое красное вино. Тушить до тех пор, пока вино не выпарится. Влить мясной бульон и тушить под крышкой еще 15 минут. Затем выложить жаркое в глиняный горшочек, залепить лепешкой из теста и поставить в духовку или печь на 10 минут. Подавать жаркое по-купечески в горшочке, украсив тимьяном. Копченая утиная грудка с яблоками в карамели и брусничным соусом рассчитан на 1 порцию; время приготовления ~ 30 минут Ингредиенты: утиное филе (грудка), мед 100 гр, яблоко, белое сухое вино 250 мл, красное сухое вино 100 мл, сахар 100 гр, брусника 100 гр, тимьян, сливки 100 мл. Порядок приготовления: Утиное филе очистить от пленок, посолить, поперчить. Залить медом, красным вином, добавить тимьян и оставить мариноваться на 15 минут. Из яблок удалить сердцевину, затем нарезать кольцами. Приготовить карамель. Для этого растопить на сковороде сахар, добавить туда же сухое белое вино. Когда вино испарится, выложить яблоки и держать в карамели по две минуты с каждой стороны. В коптильный ящик с ольховыми стружками выложить замаринованную утиную грудку, готовить в течение двадцати минут. Для соуса - белое вино довести до кипения в остатках карамели, всыпать бруснику, немного проварить. Затем добавить жирные сливки и перемешать. Подавать копченую утку с карамельными яблоками и брусничным соусом. Бланманже с малиной рассчитан на 1 порцию; время приготовления ~ 20 минут Ингредиенты: молоко 100 мл, марципан 20 г, сахар 50 гр, ваниль, сливки 33% 100 мл, малина, желатин 15 гр. Порядок приготовления: Приготовить молочную основу. Для этого налить молоко в сковороду, добавить сахар, марципан и палочку ванили. Поставить на медленный огонь и нагревать, помешивая, до полного растворения сахара. Ввести замоченный заранее желатин. Снять с огня, остудить. Сливки взбить до густого состояния и аккуратно ввести в молочную смесь. В креманки положить ягоды малины, залить получившейся смесью и поставить в холодильник до застывания. Перед подачей украсить бланманже листочком мяты и свежей малиной.